Zerene Stacker

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
stacker:docs:faqlist [2020/04/18 22:12]
rjlittlefield When do Options > Preferences values get saved and reloaded?
stacker:docs:faqlist [2020/04/25 00:07] (current)
rjlittlefield fix explicit html anchors to work around dokuwiki bug
Line 82: Line 82:
   * [[#​i_need_to_report_a_problem_are_there_log_files_i_can_send_you|I need to report a problem. Are there log files I can send you?]]   * [[#​i_need_to_report_a_problem_are_there_log_files_i_can_send_you|I need to report a problem. Are there log files I can send you?]]
  
-<​html><​a name="​what_are_the_differences_between_personal_and_professional"</​a></​html>​+<​html><​a name="​what_are_the_differences_between_personal_and_professional"</​a></​html>​[[#​what_are_the_differences_between_personal_prosumer_and_professional|.]]
 ===== What are the differences between Personal, Prosumer, and Professional?​ ===== ===== What are the differences between Personal, Prosumer, and Professional?​ =====
  
Line 114: Line 114:
 **Personal Edition** is our entry-level product. ​ It contains all the features that many people ever need, plus free trials of the Pro-only features. ​ Trials of Pro-only features cover a 30-day period that starts when each feature is first used.  To continue using a Pro-only feature after its trial period has expired, you can upgrade to Prosumer Edition for just the difference in license prices, by contacting [[support@zerenesystems.com]] . **Personal Edition** is our entry-level product. ​ It contains all the features that many people ever need, plus free trials of the Pro-only features. ​ Trials of Pro-only features cover a 30-day period that starts when each feature is first used.  To continue using a Pro-only feature after its trial period has expired, you can upgrade to Prosumer Edition for just the difference in license prices, by contacting [[support@zerenesystems.com]] .
  
-<​html><​a name="​i_see_some_menu_items_labeled_pro_what_does_that_mean"</​a></​html>​+<​html><​a name="​i_see_some_menu_items_labeled_pro_what_does_that_mean"</​a></​html>​[[#​i_see_some_menu_items_labeled_pro__what_does_that_mean|.]]
  
 ===== I see some menu items labeled (Pro). ​ What does that mean? ===== ===== I see some menu items labeled (Pro). ​ What does that mean? =====
Line 249: Line 249:
 Saving EXIF and other metadata is controlled by the setting at Options > Preferences > Image Saving > "Copy metadata from source images to saved output images"​. ​ This is a "​Pro-only"​ feature, which means that it's available for long-term use only with Prosumer or Professional licenses. ​ If you're using Prosumer Edition or Professional Edition, then this feature is selected by default. ​ If you have only a lower level license, such as trial, Student, or Personal, then you can run the feature as a 30-day free trial by explicitly selecting it. Saving EXIF and other metadata is controlled by the setting at Options > Preferences > Image Saving > "Copy metadata from source images to saved output images"​. ​ This is a "​Pro-only"​ feature, which means that it's available for long-term use only with Prosumer or Professional licenses. ​ If you're using Prosumer Edition or Professional Edition, then this feature is selected by default. ​ If you have only a lower level license, such as trial, Student, or Personal, then you can run the feature as a 30-day free trial by explicitly selecting it.
  
-<​html><​a name="​why_do_my_output_images_say_they_re_only_72_dpi"</​a></​html>​+<​html><​a name="​why_do_my_output_images_say_they_re_only_72_dpi"</​a></​html>​[[#​why_do_my_output_images_say_they_re_only_72_pixels_per_inch|.]]
 ===== Why do my output images say they'​re only 72 pixels per inch? ===== ===== Why do my output images say they'​re only 72 pixels per inch? =====
  
Line 441: Line 441:
 Probably you accidentally put a checkmark on "​Retain extended dynamic range" while saving the image. ​ Remove that checkmark at Options > Preferences > Image Saving, or when you save your next image, and the problem will go away. Probably you accidentally put a checkmark on "​Retain extended dynamic range" while saving the image. ​ Remove that checkmark at Options > Preferences > Image Saving, or when you save your next image, and the problem will go away.
  
-<​html><​a name="​what_does_retain_full_dynamic_range_mean"</​a></​html>​+<​html><​a name="​what_does_retain_full_dynamic_range_mean"</​a></​html>​[[#​what_does_retain_extended_dynamic_range_mean|.]]
 ===== What does "​Retain extended dynamic range" mean? ===== ===== What does "​Retain extended dynamic range" mean? =====
  
Line 474: Line 474:
 ===== When do Options > Preferences values get saved and reloaded? ===== ===== When do Options > Preferences values get saved and reloaded? =====
  
-Whenever the program exits, it writes current preferences to a configuration file, named "​zerenstk.cfg"​. ​ The next time the program is launched, it reads those saved preferences from zerenstk.cfg .  All preference values that relate to stacking, file formats, etc. are also written to each project file (*.zsj) that is created or updated by File > Save Project. ​ Whenever a project is reloaded by File > Open Project, all the preferences of that project ​//also become the current preferences of the program//.  So, when the program exits after reloading a project, the preferences that are saved to zerenstk.cfg will be the values belonging to that project, not whatever preferences were set before the project was reloaded. ​ Preferences can also be explicitly saved and restored, independent of any project, by using the "Save preferences..."​ and "Load preferences..."​ buttons in the Options > Preferences panel.+Whenever the program exits, it writes current preferences to a configuration file, named "​zerenstk.cfg"​. ​ The next time the program is launched, it reads those saved preferences from zerenstk.cfg .  All preference values that relate to stacking, file formats, etc. are also written to each project file (*.zsj) that is created or updated by File > Save Project. ​ Whenever a project is reloaded by File > Open Project, all the preferences of that project also become the current preferences of the program. ​ So, when the program exits after reloading a project, the preferences that are saved to zerenstk.cfg will be the values belonging to that project, not whatever preferences were set before the project was reloaded. ​ Preferences can also be explicitly saved and restored, independent of any project, by using the "Save preferences..."​ and "Load preferences..."​ buttons in the Options > Preferences panel.
  
 Most of the time, you can just ignore all these details and the program will do what you expect it to do. Most of the time, you can just ignore all these details and the program will do what you expect it to do.
  
-However, there are a few situations where the program'​s ​handing ​of preferences can produce unpleasant confusion. ​ Perhaps the most common one is when you've been doing some stacking, then you reload an old project for whatever reason, then you start a new project without realizing that the old project had different preference settings and now you're using those again!  ​+However, there are a few situations where the program'​s ​handling ​of preferences can produce unpleasant confusion. ​ Perhaps the most common one is when you've been doing some stacking, then you reload an old project for whatever reason, then you start a new project without realizing that the old project had different preference settings and now you're using those again!  ​
  
 If you frequently change preferences and reload old projects, then it's probably good to get in the habit of explicitly saving and loading preferences by using the buttons in the Preferences panel. If you frequently change preferences and reload old projects, then it's probably good to get in the habit of explicitly saving and loading preferences by using the buttons in the Preferences panel.
stacker/docs/faqlist.1587247924.txt.gz ยท Last modified: 2020/04/18 22:12 by rjlittlefield
Copyright 2009-2020, Zerene Systems LLC, all rights reserved.